Follow-up Story in the GR Press

May 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm 1 comment

Yesterday I had another great interview with Beth Loechler of the Grand Rapids Press. She wrote a follow-up story for the end of my $30 for 30 days project. It is another great piece. For those who don’t have time to read the article, I’m going to excerpt the awesome list she put together from my pictures and posts:

Spending only $30 for 30 days of food meant stretching dollars, foraging for plants and bartering for a few things. Here’s how Maria did it:

• Peanut butter 2.58
• Corn tortillas 1.19
• Evaporated milk 3.06
• Macaroni 1.19
• Brown rice 2.98
• Pinto beans 1.29
• Oatmeal 3.98
• Carrots 1.68
• Bread 1.49
• Cheese 1.89
• Salsa 1.49
• Tea bags 1.49
• Lentils 1.09
• Soybean oil 1.99
• Onions 1.09
• Apple .90
• Spices .45
Total $29.83

Bartered: Eggs, wine, maple syrup, peppers, home-canned pears, potatoes and black beans, all harvested and produced in Michigan.

Foraged: Dandelions, daylilies and wild garlic, onion and leeks.

Thanks, Beth for the great coverage and Lori for taking the photograph.

Hope to see you all at the Open House today!!!

Entry filed under: media.

You’re Invited to My Open House – Plus More Media

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Summer  |  May 12, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I’m sorry I missed your open house; congratulations on your achievements, though! It makes someone like me, with two kids and a small grocery budget, facing undermployment, still feel like I could manage to feed my kids and myself with healthy foods:)

    You’ve done wonderfully. Thank you for sharing your adventures with us. I hope you keep blogging:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate

Would you like to support Blandford Nature Center & Mixed Greens? You can make an online donation through Network for Good or PayPal If you'd like to donate a more traditional way, check out the Donate page at MixedGreens.Org.

I would appreciate it if you mention Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens in your donation.

Photos

Big Check

Last Lunch

Jaycees Speech

More Photos

