I’m Halfway There! A Week 2 Update

April 25, 2008 at 9:20 pm 8 comments


This is my review of the 2nd week of Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens. It’s been a hard week, but a good week. I’ve had some fun bartering opportunities and gotten to volunteer with some young farmers.

There are some exciting things coming up for the final 2 weeks of my $30 of food in 30 days challenge. Stay tuned at https://ricebeansmixedgreens.wordpress.com/.
Mobile post sent by NSRT using Utterz Replies.  mp3

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Global Food Crisis & You How to Cook Wild Food

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bigbinder  |  April 25, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Maria congrats on sticking it out even through the rough patch. I am looking forward to your recipes and financials, and really curious about the ‘food desert’ idea. As far as baking your own bread: be not intimidated 🙂 It took me about 6 weeks and the birds in my backyard were very well fed, but I got the hang of it.

    Reply
  • 2. Char  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Congrats on sticking it out Maria!

    Reply
  • 3. Lindsey  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Maria, have you lost much weight during this challenge? How are you feeling?? Hang in there!!!

    Lindsey
    http://www.earningeverest.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 4. COUSIN DIANNA  |  April 28, 2008 at 10:40 am

    just checking in on you- I see you are still alive and kicking. 2 more weeks to go. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Aunt Irene  |  April 28, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Keep going, Maria. I think what you are doing is great. I’m just afraid you will be shrinking into the size of a tall pencil. You know, with the price of gas and the squeeze in the economy, those dandelion salads might be popping up on my dinner table soon. Missing you and good luck.

    Reply
  • 6. ricebeansmixedgreens  |  April 29, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Thanks for all the support, everyone!

    @bigbinder – I agree that I CAN learn how to bake bread from scratch. The problem is that buying the basic ingredients to make bread would take too much out of my budget (remember, I started with NO food) and a couple of dud loafs would be devastating. I just can’t afford the risk right now.

    @Lindsey – I’m going to address the weight issue in an audio post – probably this weekend. For now I’ll just say I feel fine, but tire out pretty easily.

    @Dianna & Aunt Irene – you are too cute! Thanks for following the site. I’m not wasting away to nothing, I promise. I just posted some photos in the sidebar that prove it 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Steve  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Just out of curiosity, I wonder about gasoline.
    If a person in the category of working poor only had enough money for $30 of food in a month, and the rest is spoken for regarding such things as Gas to get to work, utlities, rent/mortgage, etc.
    Wouldnt all the running around you do to find ways to get extra natural foods or extra cheap foods, also use a significant amount of gasoline more than would be expected of a person living on very meager funds?
    Did the experiment have an allowed radius of travel and/or a specific amount of gas for getting to work and back, and sortof a budget of other trips allowed during the week?

    I would contend that someone who has only about $30 to spend on food in a month, would also have a very limited budget for gasoline use, not even considering the recent spike in food and gas costs associated with world market activity.

    Reply
  • 8. ricebeansmixedgreens  |  May 1, 2008 at 10:58 am

    @Steve – you’re absolutely correct. Gasoline is a major X factor in this. I’ll talk more about it in my upcoming post on food deserts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate

Would you like to support Blandford Nature Center & Mixed Greens? You can make an online donation through Network for Good or PayPal If you'd like to donate a more traditional way, check out the Donate page at MixedGreens.Org.

I would appreciate it if you mention Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens in your donation.


