Dandelions – The Dirty Truth

April 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm 7 comments

I had grand plans to make a video of me foraging for dandelions this weekend. Unfortunately, I only had time to go out on Saturday and the rain foiled my plans. I picked a good amount anyway and decided that I would share the muddy dandelion cleaning process with all of you.

I also had a chance to look up the nutritional information on dandelions. Did you know 1 cup of raw greens has 112% of the RDA of Vitamin A? Read more about the incredible, edible weed at NutritionData.com.

Entry filed under: Foraging, Local Food, video.

Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens in the Grand Rapids Press! I’m Going to be on Mitch Albom Tonight!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane  |  April 15, 2008 at 7:23 am

    Nice job with the video, Maria!

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  April 15, 2008 at 11:54 am

    OK – I’m going to try this out! I’m will to trying anything – once….I agree with the person who said that it would be nice to have some community classes on eating healthy for less! So where is the “secret” cheap grocery store? Are the initials SAL??? My brother who lives in Arkansas has a “dent & bent” store – he gets canned goods for a nickel – ten cents or cereal for a buck or less…I guess our dent & bents go to Second Harvest Gleaners…

    Reply
  • 3. COUSIN DIANNA  |  April 15, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    GO MARIA!!!! GO MARIA!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. ricebeansmixedgreens  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    @ Dianna – Oh my. The family has found me out! Make sure to tell our rich uncles about this…

    Reply
  • 5. ricebeansmixedgreens  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    @ Ann – try it, you’ll like it! As for the cheap grocery stores, a previous commenter shared this:

    “There are two in the GR-area: M&B Foods in a warehouse at Wilson/Chicago Drive (I got a 16-oz tub of mascarpone there recently for $.50, and a 1-lb bag of fresh basil for $.50) and Wiseman’s Corner on 28th St SW in Grandville (where Frank’s used to be).”

    If you get a chance to try either of them, tell us about it.

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  April 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    This was a helpful post! I think I’ll do some foraging this weekend. Good luck on your food adventure!

    Reply
  • 7. COUSIN DIANNA  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:43 am

    i think you are great!!!! i personally could never do what you are doing- i like my coffee, and my food way too much. But I am cheering you on every step of the way. Just dont wither away to nothing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate

Would you like to support Blandford Nature Center & Mixed Greens? You can make an online donation through Network for Good or PayPal If you'd like to donate a more traditional way, check out the Donate page at MixedGreens.Org.

I would appreciate it if you mention Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens in your donation.

Photos

Big Check

Last Lunch

Jaycees Speech

More Photos

