Please Don’t Feed Maria

April 10, 2008 at 8:06 pm 4 comments

I know that I’ll need some peer support to get through the next 29 days, 4 hours. Yesterday I sent out this email to my co-workers to enlist their help:

Hello Everyone,
I need your help with a little project I’m working on. You see, I’m doing a fundraiser for Blandford Nature center and Mixed Greens and I’ve committed to spend only $30 on food for the next 30 days. So, starting tomorrow, Thursday April 10 and going through Friday May 9, you can’t feed me.

I know, I know. I’m the office cookie monster. I’d shove my mother to the ground for some good dark chocolate. I suck down coffee (oh sweet, delicious coffee…) like a chipmunk with ADD. Well, no more. At least not until May 10!

So, for the next month, I can’t go to lunch with you. I can’t walk downstairs to get a coffee. And if we have a pizza meeting, I’ll be eating rice and looking at you with jealous eyes.

As you may guess, I’m probably going to be hungry sometimes… okay, a lot of times. I may get a little cranky. I’ll probably be having some caffeine withdrawal issues. But it’s all for a good cause.

Until May 10, I remain yours in semi-starvation,
Maria

Everyone was really supportive about this project, like I knew they would be. It’s going to be a long month, but I know I can get through it with their help.

Entry filed under: Help from My Friends.

The Great Rice and Beans Experiment Day 1 & 2 of Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. L Muresan  |  April 14, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Popcorn! It’s really cheap in a big bag at Gordon Food Service! I could go on about cheap food all day, if anyone wanted to listen. Eating cheap doesn’t mean eating poorly, if you know how to cook, know where to shop (and when NOT to shop) and plan ahead, stocking up when you find a real deal, and have flexibility and a good attitude. We forage from the urban “wild”, finding mulberries everywhere, apple trees in strange places (my favorite apple tree is in the middle of a parking lot at a plaza nearby). If you’re on a bike or going somewhere on foot it helps, because you don’t notice these little treasures when you’re zipping by in a car.

    Reply
  • 2. MaMa Zeno  |  April 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    I am looking forward to see how you do each day.
    I have chives and garlic chives in the garden so far, but dill , basil,
    mint and parsley growing in my Aero Garden. I wish you luck and will keep reading and I will make a donation for sure.
    From my 1855 farmhouse and barn in Ada I will be thinking of you each day. If you need herbs let me know.
    You can check out my little farm at http://www.myspace.com/mamazeno

    Reply
  • 3. ricebeansmixedgreens  |  April 15, 2008 at 9:10 am

    @ L Muresan – you make some great points about urban foraging. It’s amazing what you can find when you go for a walk in your neighborhood. I love the apple tree in the parking lot! I’m sure hundreds of people drive by it each day, but just never noticed it.

    @ MaMa Zeno – thanks for your kind offer. My list of foraging offers is actually getting longer than I’ll be able to handle this month, but if I get a hankering for dill, I’ll let you know!

    Reply
  • 4. Andrew  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Oh Maria- Did you ever watch that show 30 Days by Morgan Spurlock? In particular the episode filmed here in Columbus OH where he and his girlfriend attempted to live on minimum wage for 30 days. Very similar in mission to your endeavor and you may find some solidarity through viewing it – or at least a level of comfort that they survived relatively unscathed but with a much better understanding of what many face daily.

    Again, best of luck. I may do something similar to you except eat only what I grow sort of thing for 30 days since I’m really interested in promoting hyper local food systems and the such. BTW- you’re welcome to come visit anytime but if that would give you a good excuse then so be it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Donate

Would you like to support Blandford Nature Center & Mixed Greens? You can make an online donation through Network for Good or PayPal If you'd like to donate a more traditional way, check out the Donate page at MixedGreens.Org.

I would appreciate it if you mention Rice, Beans & Mixed Greens in your donation.


